Dee Discuses: Timeless 1×02

Posted: October 21, 2016 by Dee in Dee, Recaps
Tags: , , , , , ,
tumblr_inline_of1rnsszr81tq859w_540

TIMELESS — “The Assassination of Abraham Lincoln” Episode 101 — Pictured: (l-r) Matt Lanter as Wyatt Logan, Abigail Spencer as Lucy Preston, Malcolm Barrett as Rufus Carlin — (Photo by: Sergei Bachlakov/NBC)

There are spoilers in this review. Duh.

This is a cute show! I’m enjoying it a lot. I still haven’t decided if I will keep recapping. I’m leaning toward no, because while I plan on continuing to watch, it’s not really must-watch immediately. I do recommend it though, it’s a fun show and I like the main characters a lot. It’s a good thing to chill with. Anyway, previously on Timeless, we met the team. Lucy, Wyatt, and Rufus are three people picked to use a time machine and try to stop a bad guy named Garcia Flynn who is changing history. However there’s a lot more going on, because Lucy apparently has a connection to Flynn, who has journals of her from the future, and Rufus is being forced to record their convos and he doesn’t like that. Also Wyatt’s wife is dead. Last time Lucy found out that by going back in time, she stopped her sister from ever existing, and that’s horrifying. I really, really like that the show lets there be consistent changes to the timeline. Awesome.

So this one they go back to Abraham Lincoln’s assassination. The big question in this episode is if they should change the past. I hope we don’t do this forever, but it is only episode two so that’s fine. Lucy is a historian so she’s in a position where she recognizes saving Lincoln would be a good thing to do, but changing time has already proven very dangerous to her. Wyatt and her have a very serious conversation about time change, and he realizes that yes, she does think that his wife has to die and they can’t change that either. That was a great moment. Lucy becomes close to Lincoln’s son pretty much by accident. The plan is that Flynn doesn’t just want to kill Lincoln, he wants to kill the other major figures around. So the group has to split up to try and protect them.

tumblr_oewh6klEs11v614deo9_400.gif

Below is one of my favorite things. I really like that the team is getting to know each other in different ways. And Rufus and Wyatt bonding is just lovely. Wyatt is the least interesting of the three for me, but he’s growing on me, especially because of how he interacts with the others. Rufus is a great character, a brilliant person who is average when it comes to heroics. He has had to deal with racial issues twice now, and both meant a lot to him and his journey. Seeing his ancestor and connecting with him about the death of Lincoln was great. Oh and yes, Lincoln still died here. Lucy had a moment of trying to save him, despite everything, but she couldn’t. Also there’s some deepening of her storyline with Flynn. Is she his kid, maybe? His wife? I don’t know. But I want to know.

tumblr_oezuf5vsUK1qfjlsko4_250.giftumblr_oezuf5vsUK1qfjlsko8_250.gif

So yes. This is a good solid show. Lucy met her fiance for the first time, I didn’t recognize him. She mentioned something to her mother about her father, who was apparently not her father at all, which is why her sister stopped existing but now her. I don’t know if I’m super interested in that, but I still think it’s a solid storyline. I like Timeless. I don’t know how it’s doing ratings wise, but I think it’s a cute show with some good actors and likable chemistry. I don’t think I’ll keep recapping from here, but know that I’m still watching it, and you might as well give it a go. 😉

Leave a Reply

