arrow_4-19.jpg

There are spoilers in this review. Duh.

It’s no secret that I wasn’t a huge Laurel Lance fan. I did like her a lot more this season, but there’s always been a disconnect for me, between her and the others. A chemistry that was lacking, and it was possibly because in real life the cast didn’t seem to like her as much. Whatever the reason, she’s never been Black Canary to me, and she has little to nothing in common with the Dinah Lance of the comics, who I love a great deal. That being said, this is all kind of disgusting? I hate that she was fridged. I would’ve liked her to get written off the show like Roy did, if they needed to get rid of her. Or, I don’t know, given her better storylines to do. This rewriting of her history was kind of obnoxious, and I feel like it was laziness that led to this story. “What can we do?” “I dunno let’s kill someone I guess.” Sigh. Anyway, previously on Arrow, Laurel died. It was random. She said Oliver was the love her life before that, which was also random. Diggle blames himself because Andy was working with Darhk all along and Diggle trusted him. Oliver and Felicity broke off their engagement. A long time ago Tommy Merlyn died and it was the worst and it still hurts to think about.

This episode starts out with a flashback to Tommy’s funeral where Oliver was supposed to talk, but he wasn’t able to. We know that shortly afterward he ran off to the island, too full of guilt and grief to emotionally deal with anything. Laurel gives the speech instead, and afterward she tries to connect with Oliver and give him some comfort. This seems like a drastic difference from what I remembered in season two before the two of them, and it really seemed like an odd retcon to have her be so chill and kiss him and such. Did they forget season two? Anyway, Oliver as we know leaves. I’m not really sure what this flashback means outside of showing that Laurel put up with a lot of shit from Oliver, and that she’s always been a good person who wanted to do good things. I agree with that. I liked that she planned on stopping being the Canary to be a DA instead. I wish we got that storyline. Laurel attempting to get rid of her street life and do the right thing. She’d do a better job of walking away than Oliver has with his Mayor run. The one good thing this flashback did was remind us how withdrawn and immature Oliver was when he was still deeply traumatized, and how much he’s grown now. He still has a long way to go, but it’s progress for sure. The whole team has come a long way. And they’ve found a way to salute Laurel in the afterlife that I genuinely liked, although saying she was the Black Canary publicly makes me go HOW DOES EVERYONE NOT KNOW HER FRIENDS ARE THE REST OF THE BAND? Like seriously, every person she knows and hangs out with regularly, you aren’t going to suspect they’re the other vigilantes? C’mon now. I know, I know, everyone is stupid.

Canary Cry

Arrow — “Canary Cry” — Image AR419b_0045b.jpg — Pictured (L-R): Katrina Law as Nyssa al Ghul, David Ramsey as John Diggle, Emily Bett Rickards as Felicity Smoak, Willa Holland as Thea Queen and Stephen Amell as Oliver Queen — Photo: Diyah Pera/The CW — © 2016 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

This decision comes about because there’s a girl pretending to be Black Canary and wanting to kill people for “justice.” She was a prisoner of HIVE who was left behind by the group when she could’ve used saving. I did like that aspect, and it causes the group to consider the choices they make and the consequences. I’m always thumbs up for that storyline. But Ruve Darhk uses her as an excuse to claim the Black Canary is evil and caused Laurel’s death, so this is a way to counter her decision. I really hate that chick. Diggle does too, considering he tracks her down and plans on murdering her. I’m like go John go John I mean don’t do that John. >.> Shhhh. Oliver talks him down, because he’s in the wrath part of grief, and a lot of guilt. The others are all feeling their own versions of guilt and grief. Oliver reveals that part of why he always blames himself is because at least then there’s  a reason it happened. A scapegoat gives people someone to point at and say that’s it, that’s why it happened. But sometimes that’s just not an easy answer. Except for Darhk is definitely to blame. Let’s go get that guy.

Lance spends the episode in denial about Laurel and reaches out to Nyssa, who has already destroyed the Lazarus Pit. It’s a great acting job by Paul, although I still wish if anyone had to die on this show, it’d be him. He has the least amount of necessity storyline wise in my opinion, so I’m like why are you even here now. Barry shows up because he was in that first funeral scene, and he also runs away which makes me go oh well we know for sure he gets his powers back. Not that I doubted it. Felicity tells Oliver he has to kill Darhk. I agree. Also can you kill Malcolm too while you’re at it? I swear I keep thinking of better ideas for this show and then regretting when they go an easier route. Katie probably wanted off, and I don’t really blame her, because she hasn’t been getting great storylines for awhile now. It’s unfortunate yet another woman on TV had to be fridged,  but I suppose it’s something that she got more respect dead than she did alive on this show. Go figure. I’ll admit for the first time in awhile I was reluctant and even indifferent to watching Arrow. That probably isn’t a good sign.

Leave a Reply

