107728_d0583b

“Solitude” — Kara travels to Superman’s Fortress of Solitude in hopes of learning how to defeat Indigo, a dangerous being who can transport via the Internet and who has a connection to Kara’s past, on SUPERGIRL, Monday, Feb. 29 (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. Pictured left to right: Mehcad Brooks and Melissa Benoist Photo: Darren Michaels/CBS ©2016 CBS Broadcasting, Inc. All Rights Reserved

There are spoilers in this review. Duh.

The Fortress of Solitude! Brainiac! So many great Superfamily shout outs. I was smiling like an idiot through the whole thing. While I’ve never been a huge Superfamily fan, I’ve enjoyed this show a great deal, and I like these call outs a lot. “Indigo” is otherwise known as Brainiac 8, and Brainiac is a major villain for Superman. It was fun to see her here, and while she looked like a poor man’s Mystique overall, I had a fun time with her anyway. Also finally resolution for the J’onn/Kara tension. Previously on Supergirl, Alex killed Astra to save J’onn, but he lied and said it was him so Kara would blame him instead. And blame him she has, since she said she can’t work with him anymore. Jimmy asked for permission to tell Lucy about Kara, but she’s not into it. Also Cat hired a second assistant and I already hate that storyline since it’s forcing girls to be competitive and catty with each other, no thank you.

Actually any interest I’d have in Assistant #2 was killed by her immediate connection to Winn, my least favorite character on the show. When she gave some of her “tragic” backstory my eyes rolled so far back in my head I’m surprised they didn’t roll right out. I hate that storyline and of course they attached him to it, so I like it even less. I’m going to ignore it now, excuse me. Cat as always is a delight, and there’s been a break in, spreading the secrets of married men cheating all over the place. At first they think it’s just the work of a normal hacker, but it turns out to be a lot more sinister than that, in the role of an alien creature known as Indigo/Brainiac. They are basically super computers with some personality. She wants to destroy the Earth, and Non’s all like nawwww at her, since he has his own plans. There’s some sexual tension with them too. Her real plan is to get information on this high ranking general and set off nuclear explosions. Her motivations in this seem pretty silly, but whatever, I don’t expect genius here.

supergirl-115-1-600x425

Kara is struggling trying to solve this on her own since she no longer works with the DEO. Alex is heartbroken over it and wants to tell her the truth, but J’onn stands firm about protecting her relationship with her sister. Jimmy takes Kara to the Fortress of Solitude, and she figures out a few secrets about the Brainiacs. The two bond a lot this episode, and she tells him he can give her secret to Lucy. This is not long after she tells Lucy that Jimmy is wonderful and loves her, and Lucy puts the pieces together that Jimmy and Kara are not really just friends. She breaks up with him before he tells the secret, and she basically throws him at Kara. I actually like that ship so I’m okay with it, but it did seem kind of pointless to have him in a relationship with Lucy all these weeks when we all knew the inevitable. It was just getting in the middle of the two of them to encourage drama. Whatevs.

The end result though is that Alex finally confesses to Kara. Kara agrees to work with them but she doesn’t want to deal with J’onn. Alex tearfully tells her the truth, and while Kara is furious and almost looks like she’s going to stomp out, she softens. Because her love for her sister is enough to give forgiveness, and she hugs her. She also reaches out to touch J’onn when he tries to leave, as forgiveness there too, or maybe actually in apology for being so harsh to him. J’onn’s relationship with the Danvers sisters makes me happy, so it was hard to see it fractured here. I wonder if there will be more fall out over this situation, and I suspect so. But I’m glad they didn’t want the entire season to bring it to a head. I was frustrated with Kara for being so stubborn about it in the first place, and it is a little irritating she gives Alex a pass when she wouldn’t for J’onn, but that is family. It’s not kind, but it’s true. Also Non picks up Indigo’s pieces and will probably bring her back eventually. I’m not sure what’s coming up next, but it won’t be for several weeks. Is the Flash appearance next? Eeeee, I’m looking forward to that! This was a good episode, I was entertained all the way through, and I liked the character beats. At least if Jimmy and Kara finally get together we won’t have to deal with this longing thing anymore. I was tired of that from day one.

Leave a Reply

