Childish Things

“Childish Things” — Kara does her best to support Winn when his father, the supervillain Toyman, breaks out of prison and seeks out his son for unknown reasons, on SUPERGIRL, Monday, Jan. 18 (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. Pictured left to right: Chyler Leigh and David Harewood Photo: Robert Voets/CBS ©2015 CBS Broadcasting, Inc. All Rights Reserved

There are spoilers in this review. Duh.

Oh good, an episode about my least favorite character surrounding my least favorite subject (Nice Guy shipping). I guess the only saving grace is that we get more of J’onn and Kara’s growing alien BFFness. I do appreciate the show did not have Kara return Winn’s affection (spoilers). I’d applaud it, if I didn’t expect eventually she’ll change her mind like the formula of every show ever. “Oh no I didn’t like you then but now you’re over me I’m getting jealous.” Props to this show if they don’t do that, but I see the writing on the wall. Sigh. Previously on Supergirl, Kara’s aunt Astra and her made temporary peace, but they still don’t know why they attacked Maxwell Lord’s building. Hank was revealed to be the last Martian, J’onn J’onzz. Lucy’s moving to town after leaving her work with her dad. Cat’s generally awesome. Winn’s dad is in jail because he’s the Toymaker, and that’s what this episode is about. Yaaaaay.

So Winn’s dad breaks out. Apparently he was pretty normal once, if mild mannered, and then just snapped and went nuts. His boss stole his idea for a special toy so he sent a bomb and killed hundreds of people, and went to jail for it. I’m … a little side eying how much it’s like “no he was totally fine and then just … crazy?” I mean I know people snap but it feels a little weird to me. Especially with how delusional he is now. He tries to connect with Winn and says they’re the same, leading Winn to wonder if he is, which is a ridiculous situation considering his father is a MURDERING PSYCHOPATH. He says he feels like his emotions are very strong too, so he could break. Ummmm. If you’re worried you feel too hard and it could lead you to kill people, I am side eying you as well, buddy. I guess we’re supposed to feel sympathy for him, and maybe I would have, if I don’t generally dislike his character. Sorry! Maybe this worked for other viewers. He forces a kiss on Kara when she’s like no you’re a great guy! And then realizes quickly she isn’t into it and runs off. He tells Kara the truth about his feelings, which partially annoyed me because I’m like you are not entitled to her feelings, dude. That being said, he does not have to play her BFF if he doesn’t feel it and it hurts him, so I guess removing himself from the equation for now is the right move.

110-supergirl-toyman-2

At some point his father almost makes him kill someone to save lives, Kara stops him, he’s back in jail, blaaaah. I spent most of his episode going “let’s go back to J’onn and Alex.” Alex agrees to go undercover on a date with Maxwell so J’onn can use his powers and figure out what he’s hiding. They keep encouraging J’onn to go public, but he points out (RIGHTFULLY) that Kara is a pretty white girl and it’s different from showing himself as a scary alien. I think we all know that people fear what they don’t  understand. He does find that weird black eyed girl in Maxwell’s room, but he has to wipe the mind of a guard and that torments him. He hates using his telepathy that way, ruining a life essentially, and he pulls away from Alex. Maxwell figures out that something happened, and he witnesses “himself” phasing right through the door. He did not see that it was Hank though, so for now he’s safe. Maxwell also managed to put a camera in Alex’s bag so he sees that Kara is her sister.

The. Hell. Alex. THE HELL ALEX. Why in the world wouldn’t you think of this? He invited you into the lion’s den and you think you were the only one playing in this? I hate when smart characters act like idiots. Oh well. Now he knows about Kara. Overall this episode did not work for me, but at least Kara didn’t need to return Winn’s feelings, and it was decent acting overall. It looks like Lucy is there to stay and Jimmy wants to find more of his passion, and Kara has given up officially on that … for now. That’s really all I have to say. It was an ‘eh’ episode.

Leave a Reply

