marvels-agents-of-shield-laws-of-nature-photos_26mh

There are spoilers in this review. Duh.

I have this problem with Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D and if you’ve read my reviews before, you’ve heard me mention it. While I like the show just fine when I watch it, for some reason I’m always reluctant to actually start the episode. I procrastinate and don’t watch it live. I’m not sure why because I do enjoy the actors and general storyline, but it’s not a must watch for me. I wish I could put my finger on why. Last season ended a little weirdly, and I was intrigued to see where it was headed from there. They threw us right into the drama, so that was nice. Previously on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D (AoS from now on), Skye found her parents and they were both murderously insane. Jiaying decided to force the entire world to become Inhumans, basically Magneto’s plan from the X-Men movie. They tried to stop her, but instead dropped the crystals into the ocean. We saw at the end that it was getting into the fish, and that fish oil used around the world might set off people becoming superpowered against their will. Simmons was also eaten by an Inhumans/Kree thing. Yes it did look like she was actually eaten by it. Bobbi was tortured and injured badly by Ward, and Coulson lost a hand when battling teleporter Gordon. We also met handsome cinnamon roll Lincoln who has been upgraded to main this season; he’s a cutie pie Inhuman who controls electricity. Naturally this show is going to destroy him.

First off, Skye is now going by Daisy. I’m not a fan. I get they want her to basically be Daisy Johnson now that it’s revealed, but it just feels weird to hear everyone call her that. Plus her father kept calling her that, and it still bothers me that he was just let off from the messed up things he did last season. Did he deserve Tahiti? I don’t think so. Anyway, she’s working with Mack and co. to find Inhumans, as people are now unknowingly becoming them. They are also being hunted by some black ops group that will become more important later on. Skye manages to talk the man down from his panic attack and get him safely to the bus, but his life is basically over. Tough times. She wants help in the form of Lincoln, because he was her transitioner and much better with the whole process of becoming an Inhuman. Except Lincoln has quit the Inhumans and just gone back to being a normal doctor. He’s bitter and wants to put distance between himself and what happened with Jiaying. Keep in mind Lincoln was very close with Jiaying and Gordon, and now they’re both dead, and he knows what sort of madness they planned to do to the world. He is very disgruntled. He doesn’t want to help Skye and prefers to stay out of it, but they are confronted by a character named Lash who looks very Kree but is actually an Inhuman. Or I think he will be, hard to say where they’re going with it. He’s there to take them, and they fight him off and escape. Lincoln doesn’t go with them, but we know he’ll show up again sooner or later.

MARVEL'S AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D. - "Laws of Nature" - "Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D." returns for an action-packed third season on TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 29 (9:00-10:00 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network. On the season premiere episode, "Laws of Nature," when Coulson and the team discover a new Inhuman, S.H.I.E.L.D. comes face to face with another organization searching for powered people. And still reeling from Simmons' dramatic disappearance, Fitz goes to extreme lengths to try to learn how to get her back. (ABC/Kelsey McNeal) CHLOE BENNET, LUKE MITCHELL, HENRY SIMMONS

Meanwhile Coulson is trying to figure out who the new head of this enemy group is. This woman Rosalind seems to be in charge, and she traps Coulson and Lance on a subway. The reason for it is because she thinks SHIELD is actually hurting the Inhumans, and it’s only then they realize it’s actually Lash. They both are trying to capture Inhumans, possibly for experimentation on her side, and saving on SHIELD’s side, although as usual SHIELD is far from perfect. Yes they’re giving Joey a new life, but that doesn’t really help him at the moment, and beyond that, remember SHIELD puts powered people on an index. So they are interested in controlling the superhumans too. We get a side story with Fitz on a war path trying to do everything possible to bring Jemma back. It doesn’t work though and Coulson tells him to give upon it. Fitz has a genuinely emotional break down by the monolith, but nothing’s happening to him. Yet. There’s also a mention of Coulson dealing with his lost hand and Bobbi and Lance trying to start their relationship back up again. Also Mack’s around just generally being awesome but not having a real plot of his own yet.

This was a pretty decent premiere, although I can’t say it was that exciting. It’s more just getting us into the new status quo. Skye is now Daisy and hunting down Inhumans. SHIELD is still on the defensive and trying to clean up the Inhuman mess. Fitz is trying to save Simmons but nothing is working. Generally they’re all adjusting to a situation that was not of their choice, but it’s what their lives have become. It’s a pretty grim reality, all things considered. I’ll be interested to see who sent Lash, and if we’re going to get more from the Inhumans who aren’t Jiaying. Surely they have opinions on what she tried to do, and the rising issues with the Registration Act. SHIELD is right in the middle of what is going to be a civil war (ha ha) and whose side are they going to be on? For right now, I think registration. Skye’s helping them capture people like Joey after all, and teach him how to control his powers. Lincoln might protest it, I could see that. I did like Joey, he was a good guest star, and I definitely felt for his emotional helplessness. Like usual, I did enjoy the episode once I watched it, but I wasn’t in a hurry to watch. And I’m not in a hurry to watch the next one. Go figure. BTW WHERE IS MAY? Bring back Melinda May. We need her.

Leave a Reply

