Dee Discusses: Hannibal 3×02

Posted: June 19, 2015 by Dee in Dee, General Media, Hannibal, Recaps, Television
Tags: , , , , , , ,
HANNIBAL -- "Primavera" Episode 302 -- Pictured: Hugh Dancy as Will Graham -- (Photo by: Brooke Palmer/NBC)

HANNIBAL — “Primavera” Episode 302 — Pictured: Hugh Dancy as Will Graham — (Photo by: Brooke Palmer/NBC)

There are spoilers in this review. Duh.

Most of the time, I really enjoy Hannibal’s flair for the dramatic and flair for artistry. Bryan Fuller always has a very beautiful eye, and his visual style is out of this world. So he’s managed to make even the most horrendous things look fantastic. But there are times I feel like the show is bogged down too much in metaphor and not enough plot, and this episode is an example of it. I understand that Will’s coping with his health and the trauma of what he went through. This isn’t the first show to have a character go through a near-death experience and envision strange things. Maybe it’s because in Hannibal people always envision strange things, so this felt more like eh the same thing. I think I was more interested in figuring out where Jack and Alana were and seeing the aftermath of Hannibal’s attack. I mean how many times do we have to watch Will be ambiguous on his feelings toward Hannibal and their bond, and angst about it for an entire hour? I was surprised to hear people thought Abigail was alive for the episode too. It seemed really obvious she wasn’t.

The show jumps between time a little, since Hannibal’s episode was set (I think?) eight months after the finale.¬†We see Will heal … ish … and the implication is that Abigail survived and the two of them are hunting for Hannibal together. Of course she wouldn’t be doing that even if she had survived. I wonder what this is a reflection of though. She says she still wants to go with Hannibal and to be a family with them. But this is all in Will’s mind. Is this Will saying he wished he had gone? Did Will even know that was the plan for them? Will is clearly delusional and it maybe bothers me a little that he “forgives” Hannibal at the end. For trying to murder you and everyone you care about? For killing your surrogate daughter in front of you? Like seriously. These are not forgivable things. I think the show walks a fine line with having Hannibal be an entertaining character but still clearly a bad guy. But I’m not sure sometimes what tone we’re supposed to lean toward. Are we supposed to want Will and Hannibal to be BFFs again, after Hannibal gaslit Will and murdered tons of people? I’m honestly not sure, but I do care about intentions. I wonder about show runner intentions. So needless to say most of the Abigail/Will conversations didn’t do much for me. I knew it was all in his head, and I’m like same shit different episode, Will.

tumblr_npvwloEgCb1rs3cumo7_1280We did get a new character introed in this one. New to the show, but not new to the Thomas Harris series.¬†Rinaldo Pazzi is a Florence detective who once tried to catch Hannibal and failed. Hannibal was the “Monster of Florence” then. He doesn’t have Will’s close connection to Hannibal, so his feelings about it are slightly less ambiguous. Outside of a genuine curiosity. It’ll be interesting to see what he brings to the show, since his placement is different from the books. I guess this episode left me with a resounding “meh.” It didn’t give me the story I really wanted, which was seeing them all repair themselves after Hannibal’s attack, and I can’t really force them to give me that. But I was stuck going ‘who the hell let Will go hunting him alone’ and ‘why is no one putting him in a psych hospital at this point he is straight up hallucinating people now without an overheated brain.’ Visually it was interesting to see the truth of what happened to Abigail and her sad corpse near Will’s barely living one.

I don’t know, it did leave me kind of indifferent. I’ve also never been the hugest fan of the Will/Hannibal obsession, because I think their relationship is creepy and unhealthy. Which is intentional, obviously, but it feels romanticized too, which is even worse. I know this show stops being a show when Hannibal gets actually captured, but if they do plan on doing Clarice’s storyline, they might have him get caught and then jump forward in time. But they have Manhunter and Red Dragon to do first. I guess I just wasn’t on board for yet another hour of Will being unstable and obsessing over Hannibal. We’re going to get a full season of this, why wasn’t I prepared? It’s my own fault. Maybe it’s gotten old. I am excited to see Hannibal on the run at least. It’s better than having him right under their noses making puns!

 

Leave a Reply

