Dee Discusses: Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues

Posted: January 24, 2014 by Dee in Dee, General Media, Movies, New Movies, Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

There will be spoilers in this review. Obviously.

Anchorman is without a doubt one of my favorite comedies. I wrote about it before on my bookcase series, which I really need to get back to. I wrote about how skeptical I was of the sequel there, and so I was a little nervous going into the theater. It’s hard to write sequels, especially to comedies, because you need it to match the humor of before. It needs to remember why we loved it to start with, while building on the story that was already there. Anchorman was liquid gold, it was hard to figure out how they made something that seemed impossible work this well. Do I think Anchorman 2 is just as good? Well, no. But do I think it was a disappointment? Not in the least. I had a great time, and I look forward to owning it and seeing it again. I hope the DVD has some of the same great extras as the first one. It was really great seeing the cast together again and remembering how much they genuinely loved their experience too. There’s a lot of love in it, and you can tell everyone’s having a fun time, which tends to make me smile, because you almost feel like you’re in on the inside jokes now. Anyway let’s get to it.

Taking place several years after the first Anchorman, Ron (Will Ferrell) and Veronica (Christina Applegate) are married with son and a happy team on the news. They get very excited when they’re invited to speak with evening anchor Mack Tannen (Not spoiling some of these cameos), who promotes Veronica to his position, and tells Ron he’s a horrible news anchor. Ron and his team split up and he falls into a deep depression after fighting with Veronica and leaving. He’s given the chance to return to the news with the first 24/7 news network starting up. At first they’re all horrified at the idea, because who the hell ever thought that was a good idea, but they want the job. He gets his team together again including Champ (David Koechner), Brick (Steve Carell), and Brian (Paul Rudd). When they get to New York City, they’re quickly outclassed by the area and the gorgeous Jack Lime (James Marsden). Ron challenges him to see who gets the better ratings, but they’re at the worst possible time, so they’re certain to lose. Except they decide to say fuck it and lie a bunch and stretch the truth and you know, do what 24/7 news journalism is doing right now. Inflame, dramatize, appeal to the masses, forget what real news is, etc. Of course this makes them extremely popular! So Ron becomes the toast of the town.

anchorman25

Honestly I’m not sure how much more I want to give away about this film. There are so many funny things that happen from there, but they’re better enjoyed when you don’t expect them. I will say they do have another news battle, and it is … just amazing. The first one will probably always win my heart because it was unexpected, but this one had me cackling. I love their cameos because I keep thinking yes, if I was a celeb and they asked if I wanted to be in this, I would go YES YES YES PLEASE ANYTHING. Anyway the general idea of the movie is the same, Ron rises to the top, has a bad fall, and finds his way again. They gave Brick more to do this movie because Carell is a superstar, surpassing the rest of his costars at the moment, and he had a hilarious romance with Kristen Wiig’s character. Those two are such talented comedians on their own, so they bring it to a whole new level. Everyone is having a blast, they’re all on it. Maybe the movie lacks a little of the randomness of the first one.

That isn’t to say it’s not random, because oh boy is it. Just ask about the shark to understand that. It’s more like it’s calculated now. The first one they had a lot of improv and just rolling with it, and you can tell a little more pacing and structure was thrown into this. Which isn’t a bad thing, I did like the story a lot, but it lacked a little of the snappiness, that extra oomph that made it seem so unique before. But that’s honestly a small criticism, because the movie itself is still a joy to watch. If you liked the first one, you’ll still find this sequel hilarious. Sure it’s mostly more of the same, but when the same it hilarious, more of the same is what you want out of it. I feel like if they tried too much to separate themselves from the original material it would’ve failed miserably. I’m not sure how funny this would be to a person who hasn’t seen Anchorman, but who the hell would see this one before the original? If that’s you, slap yourself, and go watch it.

Leave a Reply

