Two things. 1. I refuse to do the dots between SHIELD because I’m lazy. 2. This is without a doubt the show I’ve been most excited about in years. As soon as they announced the show I screamed at the top of my lungs, and I have no regrets about that fangirlish response. Because I know a lot of people felt the same way. There’s no denying that Marvel is on a freaking roll with their cinematic universe, and I own every one of their movies. I could go on and on about how amazing they are, but I actually did a review of all their movies on this blog! So look back and check it out. I know that Joss Whedon’s true love is television, so I was not surprised he tried to make a TV show out of his new success and power. SHIELD is something that lends itself better to a regular show, considering how many CSIs there are. Instead we have a superhero-tracking government agency. This pilot made me happy in so many ways, I couldn’t stop grinning like an idiot throughout it. Fandom freaked out (in good and bad ways) when Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) was announced as the main character. I have a few words to say about that at the bottom of the recap, and it’ll refer to some spoiler speculation.

Agents of SHIELD takes place after the Avengers movie, and also after Iron Man 3, which I was delighted to see in episode one. They made it even more relevant that way. The world is getting full of super powered people and scientists trying to make super powered people. This is common in the Marvel world, after all the experiment that turned Bruce Banner into the Hulk was a super soldier program trying to replicate Captain America. SHIELD’s new order of business is to try and track supernatural objects and people, and contain them and/or take care of it. Phil Coulson is alive and back in the game, and he gives a very quick explanation of what happened to him: he did die, briefly, but they managed to resuscitate him.  More on that later. Maria Hill (Cobie Smulders) shows up right in the first scene to introduce the general concept of the show, and to our first character Grant Ward (Brett Dalton). He’s not a people person and he’ll be the point man of the team, something he doesn’t like in the least. He’s skeptical and highly trained, and he prefers to work alone.

8ee8b4472333fe65_131308_6774_pre

Coulson is putting together his own team/task force. Ward is only one piece of the puzzle. There’s also Agent Melinda May (Ming-Na Wa), who is behind a desk but the show makes it clear that she’s a badass from the beginning. Ward knows her reputation and respects it. She says she’s just the pilot of their brand new giant airplane. The geek squad is Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker) and Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), adorably referred to as FitzSimmons. Fitz is engineering, Simmons is biochemistry. The last part of the cast is in the form of Skye (Chloe Bennet), a hacker who is fighting against “the man” and she thinks SHIELD is “the man.” She witnesses a man named Mike Peterson (J. August Richards) save a woman from a burning building with some kind of superhero powers. He’s a single father with no job and no leads, and she approaches him. She suggests he goes public, because otherwise SHIELD will come get him. Instead, they come and get her.

Skye is brought into interrogation, and she talks about a program they don’t know, called Centipede. One that Mike is a part of, having this strange centipede like mechanical object on his arm. Eventually they reveal it’s a mixture of the powers we know, like Super Soldier serum, gamma radiation, and Extremis. It’s made him unstable and close to exploding, a la Iron Man 3 Extremis soldiers. Coulson proves he trusts her by truth drugging Ward and letting her question him. Eventually Mike catches up with Skye, and he has a show down with SHIELD. Meanwhile, the woman he saved from the building is actually the scientist who made him. She has her own agent going after Mike to shut him up before he can give any information. Coulson manages to talk Mike down long enough for them to find a cure for him. Skye agrees to join the team at the end, and we see that Coulson’s car Lola can fly. Ooo pretty. Mike does a rather passionate speech about how hard it is to live in a world where there are gods, and he’s just an ordinary man. It was somewhat cheesy, but I think J. August Richards sold the hell out of it, leading me to wish he was a regular on the show.

agents-shield-extremis

So first impressions: I loved it! Great world building. Great call backs to the movies while cutting  a spot in for the new characters and plot. I was not sold on Ward or on Skye, so they will take longer for me to probably warm to them. Skye comes off as trying too hard to be the Manic Pixie Girl. She had some great lines, don’t get me wrong, but I’m not there yet with her. I remember a time when I didn’t like Echo and Paul on Dollhouse, so I know it’s too early to make judgments. Love May, Coulson, Fitz, and Simmons. Totally can’t wait to see more. Now it should be mentioned here that a lot of fans are throwing around the term LMD. Have you heard that in relation to Coulson? It seems very likely that he is the LIfe Model Decoy for Agent Coulson, meaning that Phil is indeed dead and this is just a robot with his memories and personality programmed. They made a joking reference to it in Avengers, but it’s used commonly in the comics, especially for Hill and Nick Fury. The way Hill said “he can never know” and the fact he practically dodged a fast moving car door by limboing tells me it’s very likely that’s what he is. If so, I am VERY EXCITED. I think that is a great plot point and it’ll be fascinating to see where they go with it.

I’m on board. I’m excited. I’m ready!

Comments
  1. Data laughing says:

    I don’t buy the LMD theory, primarily because that’s what everyone thinks it’s going to be, and if everyone thinks that, there’s no way the Whedon boys are going to do it that way. Also, because it’s Whedon, we know someone is probably going to die unexpectedly. My money is on Fitz.

    Like

    • Dee says:

      Yeah but only people who are fans of the Marvel comics world know what that is. I talked to a bunch of people who haven’t seen anything outside of the movies and has no idea what a LMD is. They’re selling this show to the general populace, the majority don’t know what a LMD is.

      Like

Leave a Reply

