Dee Discusses: The Wolverine

Posted: July 29, 2013 by Dee in Dee, General Media, Movies, New Movies, Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , ,

You know what, Fox, I’m going to give you a little credit, because between this movie and X-Men: First Class, and X-Men: Days of Future Past, you’ve gotten me excited about your Marvel-based movies again. I’m interested in Amazing Spider-Man 2. I do want the Spider-Man and X-Men titles to go back to Marvel, but that doesn’t seem likely any time soon, so for now, I can appreciate a good job when it’s done. I was fond of  First Class because I thought James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender were really great in it. I liked the idea and going to the past. It had huge flaws, such as that horrible ending, but in general I was on board. This new movie coming out seems freaking unbelievable with that huge cast. Wolverine Origins was a horrible, horrible movie. I was skeptical going into The Wolverine, but I do love the Chris Claremont/Frank Miller storyline it was piggy backing. I liked that most of the cast was full of mostly unknowns, notably Mariko and Yukio. I was intrigued that it took place after X-3, which was widely acknowledged to be a terrible film. Still, the pieces it decided to take out of it were decent enough. Without further ado, here we go.

The movie starts with a flashback to a Japanese POW camp where Hiroshima is about to descend. One of the soldiers, Yashida, tries to save Logan and he in turn saves Yashida. This made Yashida swear a debt of honor. In present day, Logan is living in a forest away from most humans, outside of popping in to get supplies. He loses his temper when an arrogant hunter poisons and hurts a bear unnecessarily, but as he gets into a brawl a young woman Yukio (Rila Fukushima) shows up to stop him. She’s been hired by Yashida to find Logan and bring him back to Japan to he can say goodbye. He decides to go, since he’s feeling lost and has no other real option. He’s been haunted by dreams of Jean Grey (Famke Janssen), who he had to kill at the end of X-3 and was in love with. When he meets with Yashida, the old man tries to beg him to trade his immortality, and offers him the chance to have a normal mortal life. Logan meets his granddaughter, Mariko (Tao Okamoto),  who strangely nearly commits suicide after talking with her grandfather. He refuses to help, and Yashida dies. During the night, he gets attacked by Yashida’s doctor, the Viper (Svetlana Khodchenkova), and she takes away his ability to heal. This becomes a problem when Mariko is attacked at her grandfather’s funeral and Logan saves her, but he starts having trouble healing his gunshot wounds.

The_Wolverine_38675

The two connect and bond, and eventually get romantically involved. Because duh that always happens in these flicks. Yukio has the ability to see people die, although she didn’t see Yashida die, and she believes Logan will. Mariko is taken back, and Logan gets his ability to heal back by sticking his own hand in his heart. FOR REAL. JEEZ. Mariko’s father was the one who tried to murder her because she was named Yashida’s only heir. Well that’s messed up, but apparently this family is all kinds of messed up. Logan gets beaten up a lot and saves the day and it’s a lot of pain and drama. I don’t want to give too much more of that away, but it rolls out basically how you’d expect in a movie like this. It’s the last scene of the movie that really gets people pumped up, and I’ll probably talk about that more at the very bottom of this review. So don’t read to the end if you want to stay unspoiled. I liked The Wolverine. I thought it was a good solid anti-hero flick with strong performances. I thought the first 3/4s of the movie was creative when using Logan’s powers or lack thereof, although the ending leaned toward being a typical superhero finale. I liked how the story started out slow and built out and was much more of an introspective look at Logan’s immortality and PTSD and desire to move on. I really thought the performances of Mariko and Yukio were great, especially since I was surprised neither of them had a lot of work before this. I joked with a friend I enjoyed how badass everyone was in the movie; it worked well because Logan’s so dangerous, it’d be sad if none of them could stack up. Famke Janssen only had a few scenes, it probably took her a few hours at most to shoot, but I loved her and thought it was great they continued that storyline here.

Overall, I’d call this an A-/B+ movie. I’m not surprised at some of the criticisms, and I think more people agree that the last section wasn’t the best. It was interesting because until then I thought they did great at the action sequences and the way it was shot. I suppose for the big boss battle they couldn’t keep it that subtle. I’m not sure, I do know by then I was disappointed. I was a little ‘ehhhh’ at the Mariko romance storyline, because I thought the two did have decent chemistry, but I’m a little tired of just throwing two people together and assuming it makes sense. I’m not sure in their situation it made any sense. Plus Logan, why be a dick to her fiance for cheating when she did the same with you? She made it clear neither of them cared. Annoyed that he tried to kill her, definitely, but no pot meeting kettle tyvm.  Plus let’s be honest, his chemistry with Jean will always be best. I think there was enough for comic and casual fans to enjoy.  It definitely was much better than the last few X-Men movies … but that isn’t saying much. Okay some spoilers below and talk of the future.

the-wolverine-hugh-jackman-2I am glad they didn’t make us wait until the very end of the credits to have the scene with Magneto and Professor X. They do have some explaining to do, since Xavier was dead. I mean they made it clear his mind might be alive, but his body was broken into pieces. Uhhh how? Magneto they did indicate would get his powers back, and anyone who was aware of Leech’s abilities (the kid who had the cure), it was temporary. So Logan gets stopped by them and there’s a big problem both of them are working together to solve. This ties into the Days of Future Past movie coming out where the original cast joins with the First Class cast. AMAZING? I mean this could be a clusterfuck considering how X-3 had too many people and that was part of the problem. Logically I know that, but instead I just screamed at the Comic Con video and flailed at Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellan, James McAvoy, and Michael Fassbender hanging out. My fangirl heart can’t contain it. Days of Future Past is also one of my favorite X-Men stories so. AHHHHHHH! Ahem. Fangirling over. Am I looking forward to this? TRY AND STOP ME. Why is 2014 so far away?

Leave a Reply

