Deechelle Discusses: Game of Thrones 3.6

Posted: May 24, 2013 by Dee in Dee, Deechelle, Game of Thrones, General Media, Jach, Recaps, Television
Tags: , , ,

Previously: Jaime revealed he saved everyone but he’s being treated like a traitor all these years. There’s a lot of naked people. Cersei and Tyrion are being married to Loras and Sansa in order to keep the two from marrying themselves. Dany is a BAMF and freed herself a slave army. Theon is getting tortured for a season now. Ros has been spying on Littlefinger for Varys.

King’s Landing: Olenna and Tywin have an amazing stand off. She admits freely her grandson is gay, but points out Cersei’s old and her kids are probably incest babies. Tywin threatens to make her grandson part of the King’s Guard so he can’t marry anyone. It should be noted in the books Loras is actually already that. Olenna gives in. Cersei and Tyrion bond over their unhappy marriages, and he figures out Joffrey tried to kill him, not his sister. Tyrion tells Sansa (and Shae) about their engagement. Meanwhile Littlefinger is about to leave and he tells Varys he knew about Ros. So he let Joffrey shoot her full of arrows. Yikes. So long Ros. Hey with Ros and Littlefinger gone right now, does that mean less whore house references? If so, yay.

The Starks: Arya is horrified when Melisandre comes to their camp and takes Gendry. She pays the brotherhood a lot of money for him, and Arya confronts the witch. She gives her some vague prophecy. Edmure, Catelyn’s brother, is being forced to marry a Frey to make up for Robb’s terrible love life decisions. He argues at first but finally gives in, because it’s for the good of the cause. Bran and Rickon are still off in the forest with Jojen and Meera. Osha doesn’t like them. Jon Snow climbs the wall with Ygritte and the Wildlings. One of the others tries to kill him, but he manages to save them both. They make it to the top. Huzzah!

In other news: Theon’s still getting tortured. Jaime is being sent back home as long as he doesn’t blame Bolton for the loss of his hand. Brienne however is being held as a prisoner for releasing Jaime in the first place. He doesn’t like this. Sam and Gilly are off on their own and he sings a little bit, it’s kind of pointless. But sweet? And that’s that!

General Opinion of the Episode

Dee: It was great! It’s always great. I appreciate how all the plots continue on well. I think this show does an amazing job balancing so many things going on at once. There were literally 8 different stories happening in this one episode, and they all worked. Except Theon getting tortured, jeez can we stop with that already. I think this is the GoT version of a filler episode, meaning that plenty of things happen but it’s characters moving to the places they need to be rather than huge action happening. And that’s fine by me, because it’s fun as hell to watch them. I think I should be more surprised at Joffrey killing Ros than I am; of course he did. That’s the kind of kid he is, we’ve seen where he’s headed for awhile now. I wonder if it’ll come up for the Tyrells, they are in the same palace after all, surely they’ll hear about it. The Varys/Littlefinger stand off was tense, they have a great partnership/rivalry. Of evil. Basically, it’s all great. Also, way to be a badass for the first time, Jon Snow. That fall was horrific looking and it was a close one.

Jachelle: Another top notch episode in the bag. I mean, it wasn’t perfect, but this show can always be counted on to deliver high quality entertainment. I thought the ending (more on that below) really hit the mark and made me really excited to see what’s coming in the next few weeks. I can feel all the chess pieces being moved into place and I’m trying to prepare myself for what I know is coming. I can’t. I’m not prepared. I’ll never be prepared. :/

Favorite Scene

Dee: This was a hard one since Olenna/Tywin stand offs are made of magic. Buuuut it was Tyrion and Cersei talking about their weddings. It’s actually nice to see the two of them on the same page for once. I love their bantering, and as usual I find the two actors play off each other beautifully. It reminded of that short scene last season where Cersei confesses to Tyrion she wonders if Joffrey is the price she and Jaime paid for their relationship. I enjoy these brief moments for the siblings, and that he got an answer about Joffrey trying to kill him. I’m glad he knows now it wasn’t Cersei, because while the two of them are often at odds, she seems to be the only one who genuinely does know he did a good job as Hand. And tells him so.

Jachelle: Even though it was slightly disturbing toward the end, I really loved the closing of the episode and the stand off between Varys and Littlefinger. These two are some of the most underhanded characters in the series, but I can’t help but love the both of them for it? They accept who they are, and god damn they’re good at what they do. Honestly, they’re probably two of the most powerful people in the kingdom, and I’m not sure anyone around them even realizes it. When these two go up against each other, shit gets real. But I loved their talk and how they flowed into the voice overs while we were shown scenes of these others. In particular Joffrey and Ros. Oh man. That was a punch right to the feels. Sorry, Ros. 😦

Least Favorite Scene

Dee: I think this might become a thing, because they don’t seem to be letting up, but definitely Theon’s torturing. Listen I hate Ramsay Snow as much as the next person, and I know it’s good to set him up as vicious as he is right now, but I think we got it the first time. It’s getting super uncomfortable every week.

Jachelle: CAN WE STOP THE INSANITY? I really cannot handle any more torture scenes. Ugh. I am seriously getting the shivers just remembering them. Theon used to make me rage like no other, but now I look at him and just feel pity. All right, show. YOU WIN. I understand that Ramsay is a psychopath and I feel bad for Theon. Can we please stop now? Pretty please?

Favorite Character

Dee: I’m going to go with Arya for being a BAMF and unafraid of Melisandre. She calls everyone out on their BS. She proves herself to be an amazing archer. She stands by her friends and tries to fight for Gendry. And yeah, I loved her confrontation with Melisandre. I love Arya’s fierceness, she continues to be my favorite Stark.

Jachelle: Tough choice this week. I’m going to go with Olenna again. I know I’ve been choosing her as my favorite character a lot in recent weeks, but I can’t help myself. She is all that is right with the world. Bless you, Oleanna. Bless you and all your sass.

Character Who Should DIAF

Dee: Jach and I were talking about this in e-mail, and we listed the various people who we could consider in this category. So guess what, I’m listing more than a few names. Littlefinger for setting Ros up to die. Joffrey for murdering her. Beric for handing over Gendry. Melisandre for taking Gendry. Edmure for being a tool about marrying a Frey, but also Robb too for messing this up in the first place. Bolton for not letting Brienne go with Jaime. Orell for trying to murder Ygritte and Jon. And most of all Ramsay Snow because STOP THE TORTURING IT IS TOO MUCH. The end.

Jachelle: WHAT DEE SAID. omg it is too much. I cannot.

Leave a Reply

