Dee Discusses: Golden Globes 2013 Television

Posted: January 4, 2013 by Dee in Dee, General Media, News Updates, Television
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The absolute best

As said in my last post, I will be watching the Golden Globes this year solely because of Amy and Tina hosting it. I love these ladies. I want to be like them. They’re both nominated too, I wonder how that’s going to go, I bet they have funny ideas in mind for what to do. I know television this year a lot better than I know movies, so this was easier to go along with. I don’t think anyone stood out as a huge surprise, although I wish Newsroom would gtfo. I love you Sorkin, but I’m getting tired of your sermons. Girls I’m iffy on, but I’m not surprised it’s nominated. I’m looking forward to these! I was surprised to see Downton Abbey get more attention this year. Thumbs up!

Best Television Series – Drama

Breaking Bad * last season going on right now
Boardwalk Empire * hate mobster stuff
Downton Abbey * surprised at this, in a good way!
Homeland * luvvvvvvvv
The Newsroom * EW REALLY?

Response: Ugh I should’ve known everything Sorkin did would get automatic nominations. I’m not a fan of the Newsroom, obviously, I got a few episodes in and went “yuck.” I could never get into Breaking Bad but I know it’s great, and this is the last season. I don’t like mobster stuff so Boardwalk Empire is out. Homeland won last year, and I looooove that show. I’d pretty much root for it every time, but it’ll be between that and Breaking Bad for sure. Either is deserving.

Best Actress – Drama

Connie Britton – Nashville * really?
Glenn Close – Damages * As always
Claire Danes – Homeland * yesssss
Michelle Dockery – Downton Abbey * GO DOWNTON WOW
Julianna Marguilies – The Good Wife * meh

Response: I personally think Danes will score a second one here, but apparently Downton Abbey is getting a lot of attention this time around. It could be an upset and give it to Dockery instead.

Best Actor – Drama

Steve Buscemi – Boardwalk Empire * love the actor, not interested in the show
Bryan Cranston – Breaking Bad * I hear he’s great!
Jeff Daniels – The Newsroom * NO
Jon Hamm – Mad Men * I hear he’s great (dislike this show)
Damian Lewis – Homeland * my darling

Response: I was shocked and delighted when Damian won last year, but I think he was lucky. This time around will probably be Cranston or Hamm, since their shows are winding down.

Best Television Series – Comedy or Musical

The Big Bang Theory * this really isn’t the strongest season
Episodes * I hear this is a funny show, might have to take a look
Girls  * Not a fan of this one
Modern Family * fun as always
Smash * really?

Response: I think Girls is enough of a pretentious critical hit right now to probably yank it away from Modern Family for the first time. I can’t really argue too much since I like the idea of a strong female cast written/created by a woman winning this.  New Girl should be on here. I don’t care what anyone says, that show is the funniest thing, way funnier than SMASH WTF.

Best Actress – Comedy

Zooey Deschanel – New Girl * YAY
Julia Louis-Dreyfus – Veep * eh?
Lena Dunham – Girls * EH
Tina Fey – 30 Rock * YAAAAAAAY
Amy Poehler – Parks & Recreation * so many yays 😀

Response: Tina Fey better get this or someone’s going to pay. 30 Rock is over. She’s the best. Shut up everyone else. Honestly though I like the other women, I just think Fey is badass and she deserves everlasting recognition. Plus it will be VERY FUNNY since the two of them are hosting the show. Amy or Tina should get this. Period end.

Best Actor – Comedy

Alec Baldwin – 30 Rock * goodbye 30 rock
Don Cheadle – House of Lies * haven’t seen this one, I love Cheadle
Louis C.K. – Louie * I never got the fuss about this show
Matt LeBlanc – Episodes * I’m skeptical
Jim Parsons – The Big Bang Theory * yay!

Response: Probably Baldwin is going to get is because of 30 Rock ending.

Best Supporting Actress

Hayden Panettiere – Nashville * eh?
Archie Panjabi – The Good Wife * haven’t seen this, intrigued though
Sara Paulson – Game Change * Never even heard of it
Maggie Smith – Downton Abbey * yessssssss
Sofia Vergara – Modern Family * losing her shtick

Response: Dame Maggie Smith should win and you better respect that. She should win all the things.  I don’t really think she has any heavy competition here.

Best Supporting Actor

Max Greenfield – New Girl * awww Schmidt
Ed Harris – Game Change * Okay I probably should see this
Danny Huston – Magic City * wtf is that?
Mandy Patinkin – Homeland * INIGO MONTOYA MY LOVE
Eric Stonestreet – Modern Family * Solidly funny

Response: Huuuuuh. This is interesting. Well Greenfield won’t win, but I’m glad he got nominated. I’d say Ed Harris or Mandy Patinkin will take this one, they’re always fantastic in everything they do.

Just because I want to.

Leave a Reply

