But Award Shows Suck!

I hate Award Shows. It’s hilarious that I’m writing this now when my first things on this blog were talking about the Golden Globes last year. And how much I hate them. This year though I will be watching them, and for the same reason I did last time: the hosts. AMY POEHLER AND TINA FEY? I WILL FOLLOW YOU ANYWHERE. I will actually watch this and not just on YouTube clips. My queens. So yes, I haven’t actually seen all the movies this year. You know there’s a lot of movies on this list I’ve never even heard of, what’s up with that? I shouldn’t be surprised. A few of them though I’ve read more about and now want to see, so that’s nice. The following is the list of the nominees and my reactions to them. I’ll say when I haven’t seen a movie and just make a comment about what I think. It’s all personal opinion.

Best Motion Picture – Drama

Argo * loved it
Django Unchained * can’t wait to see it
Life of Pi * wasn’t too impressed
Lincoln * loved it
Zero Dark Thirty * haven’t seen it, not really interested

Response: Damn I haven’t seen a few of these. I really want to see Django Unchained, that’s top of my list right now. I know that Zero Dark Thirty is from Ms. Hurt Locker herself, Kathryn Bigelow. I’m not a big fan of war movies or army movies. It’s about the Osama bin Laden search. I think this is going to be one of those critical hits that not a lot of people actually see, but they hear it’s good so they assume it is. Not that I’m assuming it’s bad, just that it’s got Oscar written all over it. Personally my choice here would be Argo. Like Lincoln, it managed to make a good film despite the ending of it being well known. I think Argo has the edge because it’s still timely, it’s a true story not everyone knew about and it’s interesting, and it’s pretty uplifting in a way. I think Lincoln has a better chance of winning it though.

Best Actress – Drama

Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty * that woman from the Help!
Marion Cotillard – Rust and Bone * Talia al Ghul!
Helen Mirren – Hitchcock * Queen of my heart
Naomi Watts – The Impossible * Was in King Kong.  Heard this is amazing, want to see it.
Rachel Weisz – The Deep Blue Sea * Heard this is also incredible, Rachel Weisz rocks

Response: I hate when I hear about these good movies and performances but only after it’s been out and I’m like wtf how did I miss these? It also sort of leads to the obvious ‘award ceremonies are snobby because these movies are mostly indie films people don’t know about.’ That doesn’t mean they’re bad movies, most of them are really exceptionally good, but it is annoying when you know the actress and never heard of the movie before. Anyway my guess is the Jessica Chastain girl will win since Zero Dark Thirty is getting all this attention. The other four actresses I already love, so I’m happy with anyone getting it.

Best Actor – Drama

Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln * fantastic, just FANTASTIC and I don’t even like the guy
Richard Gere – Arbitrage * what the heck is that
John Hawkes – The Sessions * okay what the heck is that too
Joaquin Phoenix – The Master * he’s back to acting?
Denzel Washington – Flight * yay Denzel!

Response: I met Joaquin Phoenix and he was an asshole, so that’s colored my interest in him since. Plus that weird quitting thing he did and making a fake rap career. Trying to be Andy Kaufman much? But I love the other actors in The Master, so I might see it. Another WWII story though? Meh. I could get into the others, but I don’t care because Daniel Day-Lewis should be an obvious choice here and it would be offensive if anyone else won over him. His performance as Lincoln was beyond good. He always puts in incredible performances, there’s a reason he’s considered one of the top actors of the past few decades. Why haven’t I done a Lincoln review? I’m doing that next.

Argofuckyourself

Best Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel * I’ve never heard of this, I’m sad, it sounds funny
Les Miserables * just did the review, loved it
Moonrise Kingdom * unpopular opinion time
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen * Why is Ewan McGregor doing all these movies I haven’t heard of? I love him.
Silver Linings Playbook * I want to see this!

Response: I think Les Miserables and Moonrise Kingdom will have a fight over this one. Moonrise Kingdom is the critical darling, it’ll probably win. Wes Anderson is a hit or miss for me. Half of his movies I love, half of them I hate, and this is one I hate. I really disliked it, and I’m getting tired of his shtick. The other three I haven’t seen  yet now are interesting me for real, I especially want to see Silver Linings Playbook because everyone’s talking about it. I didn’t know it was in Maine, but I’m going to have to catch it quick before it leaves the theater. Anyway, I can’t make a real decision on this since I haven’t seen all of them, but if it’s between Les Mis and Moonrise Kingdom, I want Les Mis to win.

Best Actress – Comedy or Musical

Emily Blunt –  Salmon Fishing in the Yemen * I’ve loved you since Devil Wears Prada!
Judi Dench – The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel  * Lady Dench, I bow at your feet
Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook * Romantic Comedy Katniss?
Maggie Smith – Quartet * Of course. She doesn’t even need to be in a movie to be nominated.
Meryl Streep – Hope Springs * REALLY?

Response: Meryl Streep? Really? Come on guys. That movie shouldn’t earn her a spot on this list, and I consider Meryl Streep the best current actress out there. Psh. I keep hearing that Jennifer Lawrence might just win this one, and that she deserves it, so that’d be interesting. I’ve liked her in everything I’ve seen her in, I think she’s a great young actress, and I can see her continuing with a great career from here. All of these actresses are pretty great, I’d be fine with any of them.

Best Actor – Comedy or Musical

Jack Black – Bernie * REALLY?
Bradley Cooper – Silver Linings Playbook * Seriously need to see this stat.
Hugh Jackman – Les Miserables * awww Hugh
Ewan McGregor – Salmon Fishing in the Yemen * one of my old crushes
Bill Murray – Hyde Park on Hudson * I thought no one liked this movie?

Response: I don’t want to acknowledge the Jack Black nomination so I won’t. I think Hugh Jackman will win this with ease. Did anyone else pretty much sing an opera for 3 hours? No? Get to the back of the line. But now I’m really interested in a few of these movies and want to see them, so that’s nice.

Hey you both got a nomination, woo!

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams – The Master * I love you Amy! I don’t know your movie!
Sally Field – Lincoln * Good performance, too over the top at times though
Anne Hathaway – Les Miserables * Lol like this is a contest
Helen Hunt – The Sessions * Wow I haven’t seen you in awhile
Nicole Kidman – The Paperboy * Or you!

Response: Seriously the way people are talking, this isn’t going to be a contest. Hathaway’s been claimed as the winner since the movie was announced, practically. Fantine is a famous role that wins Tonys a lot, so it wasn’t a surprise it would be rumored for these awards too. And she was great. It’s a short role, but a memorable one. I’m sort of curious about Hunt and Kidman’s movies though, I haven’t seen them in anything for awhile.

Best Supporting Actor

Alan Arkin – Argo * He always makes everything better.
Leonardo DiCaprio – Django Unchained * Aw honey, I hope you win something one of these days.
Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master * He’s in it too? Damnit Joaquin Phoenix, I’ll have to put up with you.
Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln * SO GOOD
Christoph Waltz – Django Unchained * I have to see this movie.

Response: Holy crap this is a better list than Best Actor.  I love every actor on here. I want to hug them all. Leo’s obviously been trying to get nominations and wins for a long time now, no go. I think he’s deserved it for several of his roles too. I haven’t seen Django, but I still think he probably won’t beat out Waltz if there’s a choice. He’s a critical darling. This one could be anyone’s win I think. And I’d be happy with anyone.

Best Director

Ben Affleck – Argo * Amazing, but I wish he hadn’t starred in it.
Kathryn Bigelow – Zero Dark Thirty * I like her, but I don’t want to see the movie.
Ang Lee – Life of Pi * Ehhhhhhhhhh
Steven Spielberg – Lincoln * Spielberg is always gold
Quentin Tarantino – Django Unchained * Tarantino my darling.

Response: Woooooooooooooow. You know seeing some of these match ups, I’m pretty damn impressed by this year in movies. More than I expected. Of course I missed a lot of them, damn. When I walked out of Argo I said I knew Affleck would get a nomination at least. I don’t know if he can win against these names though. I’d say he has a good chance, especially since Bigelow and Spielberg have had their turns already and people are really digging Affleck as a director. My personal choice will always be Tarantino. I don’t care if I’ve seen the movie or not. He’s such a distinct personality and his movies and way of writing have really influenced my taste in film.

Best Animated Movie

Brave * ehhhhhhhhh
Frankenweenie * High five
Hotel Transylvania * never heard of this? Vampires?
Rise of the Guardians * Blech
Wreck-It Ralph * Am dishonored for not seeing this yet

Response: Out of respect for my video game roots, I don’t have to see Wreck-It Ralph to vote for it here. I know I need to see it. Brave did not impress me, I thought Rise of the Guardians was silly, although I did hear Frankenweenie was fantastic. It’s nice to see other people giving Pixar a run for their money.

BEST EVER

Leave a Reply

