Deechelle Discusses: Once Upon a Time 2.2

Posted: October 19, 2012 by Dee in Dee, Deechelle, General Media, Once Upon a Time, Recaps, Television
Tags:

Woo okay going to cut it into the Enchanted Forest land and Storybrooke this week. In Enchanted Forest land, we see what happened to Regina immediately after Daniel was murdered by her mother. It’s only a few days away from her marriage to the king, and her mother has trapped her so she can’t leave. She’s getting desperate and begs to be freed, but her mother’s hearing none of it. Her father points out that Cora is getting a lot of it from the book she’s carrying, but it was written by another person. She calls upon the owner, Rumpelstiltskin, and he gives her a mirror that will get rid of Cora. All she has to do is push her mother into it, and she’ll never see her again. Regina uses magic for the first time and pushes her mother through the mirror. Yet she still apparently goes through with the wedding? Hm. In the end Rumpelstiltskin offers to teach her magic, and she admits she loved using it but she never wants to become her mother. He says “that, dearie, is completely up to you.” Free will, honey.

Okay back to Storybrooke. Everyone’s panicking and trying to figure out what to do. The dwarves figure out that if you try to leave the town, you lose your memory of who you really were completely and become your Storybrooke counterpart for good. Eeeeep. Charming is overwhelmed trying to decide what to tell everyone, and he buys himself some time so he can figure out how to get his wife and daughter back. Regina refuses to cooperate and her magic isn’t working, so she gets Rumpelstiltskin¬† – er Gold – to give her the Grimoire. Her mother’s magic book. He warns her it’ll take something out of her, but she doesn’t care; she wants Henry back. Charming asks for Gold’s help too to look for who owns the hat. They agree to keep out of each other’s way as a deal. Gold freaks out when he’s told that leaving the town takes away your memory; oops guess he didn’t know that was going to happen. Charming does find Jefferson. I guess his car was overturned during the wraith attack last week? That’s not really defined. He says he can’t get the hat to work, but he knows that the Enchanted Forest still exists so Emma and Snow are probably alive. Then he takes the hat and runs.

Charming tries to go after him but he’s stopped by Red. While he was distracted Regina used magic to terrify everyone and take Henry back. Charming gives a speech to everyone about how they don’t want to lose their memories, and they should get the town back up and running until they can figure out what to do. Inspiration! He then goes to demand Henry back, but Regina’s had a change of heart. She sees the parallels between Henry and herself, and she doesn’t want to be her mother. She wants him to love her for the right reasons, so she lets him go with Charming, and she admits to Charming the other world exists. She tries to get up the courage to burn the magic book, but decides not to in the end. In the last part, we see Snow and Emma taken to a camp by Mulan and Aurora, and Snow tries to make a run for it. She’s knocked out and they’re both thrown into a pit. Emma meets another person in the pit … CORA! Dum dum duuuuuuuuuuum!

General Opinion of the Episode

Dee: I was excited by the backstory in this episode for Regina. I thought it would be ridiculous for her to go from nice Regina instantly to evil queen after Daniel died, so it’s good to see it’s a more gradual descent. It also sheds more light on Rumpelstiltskin’s long background with the family. I suspected when we first heard Regina’s last name – Mills – that she was the Miller’s Daughter. Now it’s obvious her mother is instead, which is still such a fun element. Rumpelstiltskin definitely implies as much here, which would mean that Regina was the baby from his original story that he planned to take from Cora, but he lost when his name was found. I’m sure the show will have their own twist on it, but what a great addition to the relationship between the two of them. I knew they planned on redeeming Regina soon, and this a much better step than yeah Snow was a ten year old who made a mistake I hate her forever. That part is still annoying. Anyway I’m rambling, I liked the episode. I’m disappointed there wasn’t more from the Snow/Emma camp, but it looks like they have more in the next episode. I liked the resolution with Regina but that she still didn’t burn the book; she’s not cured yet people. Generally I had a great time.

Jachelle: I really love Regina, guys. Normally in shows like this, I totally root for the heroes, and wave my little white hat furiously in the air. Don’t get me wrong, I still do that here, (SNOW AND CHARMING I LOVE YOU) but Regina is beyond fascinating to me. I love her character, I think Lana Parrilla is fabulous, and I cannot get enough of her story. So with all the Regina backstory in this episode, I was just as happy as a clam. I could not have been more pleased when she decided that she wanted Henry to love her on her own and let him go with Charming. That combined with the fact that she couldn’t quite bring herself to burn the book just makes me so PLEASED. It means we’re in for some even more awesome character growth with her this season, and I can’t wait.

Favorite Scene

Dee: Rumpelstiltskin and Regina meeting for the first time. It’s not secret that I find these two the best actors on the show, and their scenes together are always fantastic. In Storybrooke or otherwise, they play off each other beautifully. I think it’s telling in interviews they’re usually paired together. It’s such a difference to see sweet and young Regina, and to watch him manipulate her while still reminding her it’s all about what she wants in the end. When she says at the end that she won’t turn into her mother, and he says that’s up to her, it’s a warning, and it’s a good point. I could watch the two of them forever, honestly. I’m excited to eventually see more about their background and I’m glad they’re making Regina’s progression into evil slow enough to believe.

Jachelle: Remember earlier when I said I love cheering for the heroes? Right. Well. I really love cheering for the heroes. Charming’s speech to the town just made me all warm and fuzzy inside. His earnestness and faith is just so charming. Yeah. I said it. At any rate, I thought it was a lovely moment, and it was a nice climax to the trouble brewing with the townspeople in this episode. Clearly, they aren’t done struggling with their position in the town, but I think Charming’s speech was enough to soothe some of their fears for now.

Least Favorite Scene

Dee: Regina stop blaming a ten year old for what happened. Your mother murdered Daniel. It makes me stop supporting your redemption and you did so well in the rest of the episode, so shut up shut up shut up.

Jachelle: Ditto. I really hate that.

Favorite Character

Dee: I’m going with Charming. At least 75% because he admitted he was a whiny bastard as David. That made me laugh out loud. It does make me lean on the fact that Regina made them all purposely annoying last season so they’d keep not getting their happy endings. Feels right to me. And I did like his speech to everyone at the end, although why they all decided to erase their memories is beyond me. I didn’t expect that of Archie in particular, but I think it was just a thing so he could have that dramatic last scene. But I liked him taking names and kicking butt and figuring the town out. He hasn’t been able to show his leadership qualities for awhile, and I loved that he did here. Plus I can’t wait to see more bonding with him and Henry. Big high five to you, Charming. And let us never see David again, plz ty.

Jachelle: REGINA. Obviously. I adore her, and with the exception of that scene where she continues to blame a little girl for all her problems, I think she’s fantastic. I am so excited to see more of her redemption this season. That scene where she decides to let Henry go with Charming….ugh. It just gave me SO MANY FEELINGS. I believe in you, Regina!

Character We Can’t Wait To See

Dee: Lancelot. Definitely Lancelot. Next episode is titled the Lady of the Lake and apparently he has a past with Snow White. I hope it’s not a romantic one, personally, but I wouldn’t be surprised if there was. I really like the actor they cast as him, and I would love to see more Arthurian legend stuff on this show. Arthur and Gwen! Bring it!

Jachelle: I’m interested to see Ariel, honestly. I want to see if they’re going all Hans Christian Anderson or if they’ll stick closer to the Disney version. Or maybe something all their own. Never can tell. Either way, I’m excited.

Character We Hope To See Some Day

Dee: I’d have to say Aladdin. Yessssss. They had the genie, come on. If we have him, we should have Aladdin and Jasmine too. I’d be really interested in seeing if there was ever a way to make Disney’s animals into the show too, they had that reference with Pongo and Archie, but I’ll be honest, I’d love to see Simba somehow. I doubt it’d ever happen, but whatever, it’s in my head.

Jachelle: I’d really love to see Robin Hood and Maid Marian turn up at some point. Snow totally had an almost Robin Hood thing going for her when she was on the run from Regina, I’d love to see some backstory where she met up with the two of them.

Comments
  1. […] excited about FREAKING ROBIN HOOD, MAN. I have been wanting Robin and Marian to show up forever. See? Proof. Way back at the beginning of the season, I was still crossing my fingers for them.¬† And […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

