Dee’s Bookcase: Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

Posted: August 27, 2012 by Dee in Bookcase, Dee, General Media, Movies
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It’s 1975 in San Diego and the team from Channel 4 News is extremely successful and beloved. Their main anchor Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) is arrogant, misogynistic, sort of dumb, and he is able to understand his dog Baxter when he barks. The rest of the team includes sports guy Champ (David Koechner), field reporter Brian (Paul Rudd), and weatherman Brick (Steve Carell).  They are very happy until Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) joins them. She is determined to be the first serious woman anchor, but she is forced to report on silly stories instead. Ron falls head over heels for her and they start a relationship, but when he’s grieving over his dog’s untimely demise, she’s forced to take over anchor for him. He’s furious she took his spot and she becomes co-anchor, but their relationship deteriorates into blazing hatred.

This movie is amazing and everyone should watch it. Much of the lines are improv and since it boasts an amazing cast of comedians, you can only imagine how great they can be when free to say what they want. It’s a parody of the 1970s and TV news in general, and it has many random funny celeb cameos. It did well enough in the theaters, but with DVD sales and word of mouth, it became a quick comedy classic.

First Impression

I loved it. This review is going to be glowing because it’s one of my all-time favorite comedies of all time. I loved it from the first time I saw it in the theaters and laughed my ass off through the entire thing. My friends were with me, and we went out wanting to see it again and quoting the lines we could remember.

Current Impression

I still love it. I just rewatched it and spent the whole time laughing and rewinding my favorite parts. And watching the bloopers. Have you listened to the commentary yet? It’s silly. I love the extras on the DVD. There is nothing bad that can be said about this movie in my eyes. I can’t say how many times I’ve seen it at this point and it still makes me laugh. I know every line and find it funny no matter what!

Favorite Character

How am I supposed to choose this? Damnit I’ll just have to go with the obvious and pick Ron Burgundy. Everyone is hilarious in this movie, but obviously Will Ferrell has to be at the top of his game in order to make it work. He was the lead and this was at the height of his popularity. Ron is goofy and inappropriate and wacky and I love it. Don’t know many people who would sign Afternoon Delight to explain what love is. Or keep yelling MERCIFUL ZEUS. BY THE BEARD OF ODIN. I’d listen to you, Mr. Burgundy.

Favorite Quote

“I’m in a glass case of emotion!” – Ron Burgundy. This is a really hard choice to make, I’ll be honest. It’s one of the most quotable movies I’ve seen. But I love him flipping out in the phone booth about Baxter and all the glorious gifs that came with it. Like this one.

Favorite Scene

Absolutely without question the gang fight between the networks. I think it’s suffice to say this scene makes me laugh so hard I hurt a little. I’ll sometimes pull it up on YouTube just to see it again. It’s not enough that there’s celebs scattered throughout all the groups, or that they represent different types of news broadcasts that makes it extra funny. It’s like the perfect collection of wonderfully surreal things and the fight itself … THERE IS A TRIDENT AND HORSE AND FIRE AND NET. Even sitting here right now I’m starting to chuckle. That scene represents everything I love about this movie. It’s weird, it’s silly, and yet it works within that world.

What Doesn’t Work

Nothing about Anchorman, but I’m skeptical about Anchorman 2. Sequels are notoriously bad most of the time, and while I love and respect all of the actors, I can’t say I’m confident it’ll be as good as the first. Or if there’s even a way for the sequel to be that good. It was too unique and bizarre and I’m not sure they can bottle that type of movie and bring it back out again. I’m willing to give it a shot of course, I’m just not getting my hopes up.

Why I Own This

If you’ve read the rest of this, you know the answer to that. I’ve watched it on DVD tons of times since I bought it, and  I love the extras. It never fails to cheer me up. I’ve seen it with friends when they came over too. It’s one of those movies that doesn’t get old. If you’ve never seen it, what’s wrong with you? Ha ha  just kidding. It really doesn’t work for everyone, it’s an obscure sense of humor, but if you do like that type of movie, it’ll become one of your favorites easily. And if not GO BACK TO YOUR HOME ON WHORE ISLAND.

Comments
  1. […] is without a doubt one of my favorite comedies. I wrote about it before on my bookcase series, which I really need to get back to. I wrote about how skeptical I was […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

